Located on the coast, Oceanside is a small city in San Diego County and is a classic California town, with tons of beaches, a pier, and water sports for everyone. The constantly warm weather ensures everyone gets to enjoy the outdoors year round, and tourists flock to the city for a break from the snow, rain, and the cold. Oceanside has much to offer with one of the longest wooden piers in the U.S. and the world’s largest women’s surf competition.
For the residents, Oceanside is a diverse area. With over half of the more than 170,000 residents identify as white, 30 percent are Hispanic, more than 6 percent are African-American, 5.5 percent are Asian, and others are Pacific Islander, Native American, and Alaskan Native.
While there’s a lot to do and see in Oceanside, there are also elements of crime. Just like anywhere else, people are accused of crimes such as possessing drugs, assault, and stealing.
Anyone charged with a criminal offense should contact an Oceanside criminal defense lawyer, like Jessica McElfresh.
Jessica has been practicing criminal defense work in the San Diego area for years. She not only knows the law, but also the communities she serves. If you come to her with your case, she’ll get to know you personally as well as every aspect of the situation so she can build you the strongest defense possible under the law.
California Marijuana Charges
Medical marijuana has been legalized in California, but possessing and trafficking the drug is still a crime in the state and can be harshly penalized. To be convicted of a marijuana possession offense in California, the prosecutor must prove you had marijuana in your possession and that you knew the substance was marijuana. The prosecutor may not have to prove actual possession, which includes having it on your person. They may be able to prove constructive possession, which means it was somewhere you had access to.
Depending on how much you had in your possession, you may face a small fine. A possession of less than one ounce is an infraction that won’t give you a criminal record. For large amounts, you face more significant penalties, jail time, and a permanent record.
Assault, Battery & Domestic Violence Charges in California
Whether someone was charged with assault due to a fight with a friend or domestic violence after an argument at home, they may wonder what to do. How do they prove they did nothing wrong? Or how do they show the court they made a mistake?
Battery Charges in California is the actual use of violence against another person while assault is the threat of violence with the ability to follow through with that threat. Domestic violence is different in that it’s the use of force or the threat of violence against an intimate partner. That partner can be your ex-spouse, parent of your child, current spouse, or someone you’re dating.
Assault, battery, domestic violence or other similar charges are serious offenses under the law and could result in fines, jail time, probation, and a permanent criminal record if the defendant isn’t able to prove their stance in court. An Oceanside criminal defense attorney can answer a person’s questions and defend them in court, either proving their innocence or minimizing the consequences of conviction.
Theft Charges in California
It’s not surprising that theft can be an issue in a California beach town that draws in tourists. Oceanside has its fair share of shoplifting and pickpockets. Under state law, petty theft is the theft of less than $950 worth of property. A defendant faces time in jail and a fine for petty theft. Grand theft is for theft valued at more than $950 and can be charged as a felony, which brings with it up to 3 years in jail.
No matter how small the item stolen or how little its value, having an attorney by your side in court can make the difference between a small punishment versus dealing with this mistake for years.
Contact an Oceanside Criminal Defense Attorney
If you’ve been charged with a crime, you should contact a lawyer. You have the constitutional right to legal representation at all times following your arrest. By having a criminal defense attorney, you have someone who can protect your rights while being questioned by police, having your bail set, and during a trial.
Without an attorney, you may say something that the police can use against you during your trial. You also might not understand the defenses available to you under the law. A lawyer will know how to prove your side of the story while showing the judge or jury the holes in the prosecution’s argument.
Contact McElfresh Law right away at (858) 756-7107 for a free and confidential consultation.